Carmel of the Sacred Heart at Uzès

carmel uzes


The History of our Monastery

Founded by the Carmel of Chartres during the war of 1870, the beginnings of our foundation were marked by a very great poverty. This meant that our Sister Foundresses had many occasions for trying their faith and their surrender… but also for experiencing the wonderful solicitude of the Divine Providence for them.
From 1901 to 1909, the community went through a very difficult time. Following the Law for Congregations, a part of the community went into exile to Malta. In 1909, all the Sisters were reunited in the conventual life and vocations came along, much to the joy of all.

The monastery today

At the present time, 2014, there are thirteen Nuns, between the age of 24 to 88.
Called to live in the presence of the Living God and to make our life an offering, our days find their rhythm through times of prayer, work and fraternal encounters in community.

The Eucharist is at 8.30am during the week and 9am on Sundays ;
the liturgical Offices : Lauds at 7.20am and Vespers at 5.30pm ; silent prayer is at 6am and after Vespers.
Our main source of income is our bookbinding workshop as well as some work displayed in a showcase : (embroidery, needlework, packaging…).

Special features of our monastery

Our small Carmel of the Sacred Heart at Uzès has always kept its hallmark of poverty. We try to make this our treasure and to live daily the joy of the Gospel in communion with God and between ourselves.



  • Federation : Avignon-Lyon
  • Diocese : Nîmes
  • Ecclesiastical Province : Montpellier

Contact our monastery

Carmel du Sacré-Cœur
7 avenue Louis Alteirac
30 700 UZÈS

More information